Light Line Social Square - Rouse Hill


Light Line Social Square - Rouse Hill

Light Line Social Square is the line-wide artwork for the 8 Metro North West stations from Cherrybook to Tallawong. The artwork is embedded in the design of each station. It is made up of artful landscapes, sculptural furniture, coloured glazing in skylights, facades, lifts, stairs and escalators, train activated platform lighting, glazed tiled walls, playful paving and cooling mist installations. The artwork draws upon the recent agricultural history of the region. The geometry of the orchard groves, and the colours of their fresh produce, are translated into the grid of the station landscapes, and the signature colour at each station. In this way, Light Line Social Square references the past and connects it to the present and the future. The artwork orchestrates an interplay of colour and light, expressed over time. It is immersive and dynamic - continuously changing throughout the day, according to the light and weather conditions, and over the seasons, across the year.

Rouse Hill is the second of two elevated stations on the Sydney Metro North West line coming from the city. The elevated stations are characterised by the diurnal experience of the Light Screen facades; the expansive seasonal Urban Groves and the ephemeral Cloud Room mist installations that cool the station plazas in the heat of summer. The Colourways transparent green glass creates striking geometries through the Light Screen facades. Along the elevated platform, from evening through to early morning, Light Line illuminates in lemon yellow, as trains enter the station. Clusters of Social Spheres, inlaid with apple green, are playfully arranged within Urban Groves of flowering evergreen water gum (Tristaniopsis laurina ‘Luscious’) trees with an understory of mock orange (Pittosporum tobira).

Neraby Rouse Hill Farm, part of Sydney Living Museums, was home to early orchards in the area.

Metro North West stations: Rouse Hill
Transparent coloured glass, cast aluminium, concrete, paving, mist, LED light, trees and flowering plants
Station and public plaza
Hassell on behalf of CPB John Holland as part of Northwest Rapid Transit

Lloyd Rees Award for Urban Design, NSW Architecture Awards 2020

Commendation for Public Architecture, NSW Architecture Awards 2020


Peter McGregor (McGregor Westlake Architecture) and Hassell


Artists: Michaelie Crawford, Turpin Crawford Studio and Peter McGregor, McGregor Westlake Architecture in collaboration with Ross de la Motte and the Hassell design team. Turpin Crawford Studio team: Jennifer Turpin, Anna Ewald-Rice, Rupert Trengrove; McGregor Westlake team: Wes Grunsell, Tina Chow, Isabella Spiedel, Alex Rink; Deuce Design: Bruce Slorach, Ingrid van der Meulen; Event Engineering: Jeremy sparks, Konrad Hartmann; Fiona Robbe Landscape Architects; Waterforms International; Dirk Slotboom, Michael Sallis

photo and video credits
Brett Boardman Photography; Ian Hobbs Media; Rusty Goat Media; Mark Syke Photography